Hubby Hubby

03Sep09

I’m probably breaking some sort of unwritten blogging rule by making this post… no politics, no religion, etc. However, seeing as how even though this is my gaming / fashion blog, it’s still my personal blog, and it’s an issue that I’m pretty passionate about. I actually don’t realize how passionate about it I am until I get in an argument about it, which really sheds some light on just how emotional I am on this issue.

Vermont is for lovers!
If you haven’t figured it out by now, you might have heard about the ice cream company Ben & Jerry’s changed the name of their iconic ice cream flavor “Chubby Hubby” to “Hubby Hubby.” The ice cream company partnered up with Freedom to Marry, so this along with marriage-equality beginning two days ago in Vermont (which is also where Ben & Jerry’s HQ is located), they changed their ice cream flavor to celebrate and bring awareness to the importance of marriage equality!

Now, a little back story. I’m a democrat, sometimes more liberal sometimes less, and therefore I whole-heartedly support gay marriage or marriage-equality! However, a couple people close to me, share their beliefs with the people on the other side of the fence. Normally I would say, that’s fine, everyone’s entitled to their own opinion, which is true… however, in this case, I feel that it’s not about your religious beliefs or your political stance. It’s about what’s right and fair to our fellow human beings! A gay person is no different than I, because on the outside and deep down inside, they are as human as I am as you are as we all are; because of this, why should they be treated differently? Why are they not entitled to the same paths of life?

One argument that I hear that is quite different than the norm, is that it’s okay if gays want to get “married,” but as the Bible’s definition (and some dictionary’s dof marriage is between a man and a woman, then gays should have to call their marriage something different. A union, if you will, since their union is different than ours. I personally don’t see it that way, since I see it as basic as two humans who love each other, though some stop at the genders involved. I can understand how they see that it’s different. Although, whenever I’m talking to someone who shares the opposite belief as me, I always ask this question…

“How does two gay people getting married,
negatively affect your life?”

Usually, they don’t answer, but if they do, the answer is that it doesn’t! They always retort with, “If it’s not affecting my life, then how is it affecting yours?” Well, my friend, it’s because a fellow human being is being denied rights. That’s wrong. It wasn’t okay for women to be treated this way, it wasn’t okay for African-Americans to be treated this way… then why oh why is it okay for gays?

“Getting married isn’t a right entitled by the Constitution.”

This baffles me. It whole-heartedly does. How can anyone think this? I know not everyone has the Constitution memorized, I know I don’t, however it does say that “in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, ensure domestic Tranquility, … promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity…” which kind of speaks for itself. Even in our Declaration of Independence, the document this entire country was founded on…

“We hold these truths to be self-evident,
that all Men are created equal,
that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights,
that among these are
Life, Liberty, and the pursuit of Happiness.”

There you have it, my friends. There it is. If life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness are unalienable rights, then how can we justify denying marriage to gays? To disallow marriage to the homosexual community, is that not denying them the unalienable right to the pursuit of their happiness? Some will be stubborn even now and say that it’s not, but clearly, it is.

Not my intention to venture off with a cliche ending, though it is quite fitting, and I really can’t say it any better: “I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed; we hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal. … Now is the time to make justice a reality for all of God’s children.”

/off soapbox.

Note: Please feel free to comment and leave your opinion. However, please do try to keep this in mind and do it constructively. Any flaming, derogatory comments, belittling, etc will not be tolerated.

7 Responses to “Hubby Hubby”

  1. 1 Eric D

    Let it be known that I am a Libertarian advocating liberty or conforming to principles of liberty, and I’m agnostic as well. That being said I have no problem what a gay union is called as long as they have the same benefits and rights as everyone else. If the catholic sect is so bent out of shape of the word marriage call it something else. I could give 2 shits about the word seeing how there is no sanctity to it anymore. I’m sure everyone knows that 1 in 2 marriages end in divorce. I have a “aunt” mike who I love dearly and is a laugh riot. He has a partner that he cant add to his life insurance or include in his health care plan because of the gay marriage laws, but to change the name of an iconic ice cream? Come on Ben and or Jerry… I can’t feel a slight on the gay community to sell more of your delicious ice cream on the coat tails of a political hot bed topic. PLUS I LOVE CHUBBY HUBBY!! the name rolls of the tongue CHubby HUbby… hubby hubby doesn’t sound delicious. I would not want to put a spoon full of hubby hubby in my mouth. /shifty eyes HAHA I keed I keed. But seriously I have no idea why this is such a hot topic for people, who gives a shit honestly. Weather they are “married” or not wont changes the fact that some men prefer dick. Why not let them be happy and share the rights the rest of us enjoy… Plus that just more of the population paying marriage license fees and shared taxes that there respective states can squander on meaningless programs that is great than the current married populous can provide. Also I don’t find it fair that the gay population don’t have the pressure of marriage planning or any of the other woes that go into marriage. Let ‘em share our pain haha 🙂

    • Yeah, I’m fine with it being called something else, I just don’t really understand why it has to be. I mean to me, marriage is supposed to be something you do when 2 people love each other, so why can’t another pair of human beings do it, gay or straight or whatever? Apparently, though, that’s not what marriage is about so maybe I won’t be doing it either. =/

      I heard that Hubby Hubby has double the nuts in it now. lulz. 😛 I don’t really care either way that they changed the name, I thought it was cool to see a company publicly support marriage equality tho. They should’ve just made a new ice cream.

      I guess both sides just need to compromise. If it has to be called a union, then whatever, it’s still the same thing even if it makes other people able to sleep at night knowing it’s not called marriage. To me it just means even more segregation and confusion “We’re going to have a union, shit I mean we’re getting married, we’re not gay!!”

  2. Ideally, the government wouldn’t have any say in marriage to me, but since it does, I believe that right should be extended to everyone! 🙂

    That being said, this is adorable and has prompted my roommate and I to ask when the nearby Ben & Jerry’s is going to start selling it. Her only question was, “Is there a Wifey Wifey version?” :B

  3. I just want to vomit when people are anti-gay marriage. I used to be more civil about the issue but now I just can’t take the right-wing BS anymore and have zero patience for their hate.

    Adultery should be punishable by law if they wanna get all high and mighty about the sanctity of marriage IMO.

  4. aww that is nice of ben & jerry’s… two birds with one stone, yummy ice cream AND equality! ❤

  5. That is awesome!! I know people in my family would shit themselves over that, but I’d smack em around if they did. OMG I wonder what it tastes like. I must try it!


Leave a Reply

